Thursday, December 11, 2008

Henry Hewes Design Awards wins announced

Here are some awards I can get behind. Congratulations to the winners, all of whom did outstanding work.

"Five theater artists will be honored by the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee during the presentation of its 44th Annual Awards at a Sardi's luncheon on Friday, December 12. Ninety-five theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 62 productions presented during the 2007-2008 New York theater season.

The HHDA Committee named top honorees in four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects. The Awards will be presented by Scott Pask, Clint Ramos, Natasha Katz and Kevin Cunningham, all of whom were 2007 honorees.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards celebrate work in venues on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off Off Broadway. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions. The Hewes Design Awards Committee considered more than 200 productions when making its nominations. Those feted receive honoraria and citations at the luncheon. Originally known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later called the American Theatre Wing Design Awards in honor of the Wing’s support of the committee. They were renamed in 1999 for noted theater critic and advocate Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 2006 at age 89.

Lincoln Center Theater's South Pacific and Atlantic Theater Company's Trumpery each received four nominations; six productions gained three nominations each and 15 others earned a pair. Past Hewes Design Award recipients David Korins and Howell Binkley led all nominees with four nominations each for their design work during the 2007-2008 season. Designers Mark Wendland and Donald Holder each received three nominations. A total of 11 artists received more than one nomination.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; Dan Bacalzo; David Barbour; David Cote; Tish Dace; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; and Joan Ungaro.

The winners are:

Scenic Design

Mark Wendland: Next to Normal (Second Stage Theatre), Richard III (Classic Stage Company), Unconditional (Labyrinth Theater Company)

Costume Design

Katrina Lindsay: Les Liaisons Dangerueses (Roundabout Theatre Company)

Lighting Design

Donald Holder: Cyrano de Bergerac, Les Liaisons Dangereuses (Roundabout Theatre Company), South Pacific (Lincoln Center Theater)

Notable Effects:

Jim Findlay and Jeff Sugg (projection design): The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (Vineyard Theatre, pictured)

No comments: